“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (May 21, 2014)

Akata WitchWhat are you reading?
I started Nnedi Okorafor’s Akata Witch just yesterday, and I’m already ⅓ of the way through it. (I’m a slow reader and it’s 300+ pages, so this is a lot for me.) I can’t put it down. I suggested it for the secondary school and I think it was put in our order last minute because it is unlike any fantasy I have ever read, and I have read a lot of fantasy.

What did you recently finish?
I picked up Akata Witch when I finished Ellen Renner’s Castle of Shadows, which I just adored. I loved Princess Charlie, for all she’s a little brat; she reminded me of a less vicious Lyra Belacqua. I couldn’t put this book down because I had to know what happened, and even though I guessed at a few of the surprises before they were revealed, it didn’t dampen my enjoyment of it at all. What particularly impressed me was the turn of phrase; the language itself was beautiful. Like I said on Twitter:

What do you think you’ll read next?
Castle of Shadows wrapped up nicely, but it ended on a cliffhanger, so I think next on my list is City of Thieves.

One thought on ““What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (May 21, 2014)

  1. Pingback: Castle of Shadows | Leslie Ann, librarian-at-arms

Leave a Reply

