Judging a Book By Its Cover: New Bloomsbury Harry Potter

Harry Potter and the Philospher's Stone 2014 Let’s be honest: I could write a million posts about Harry Potter covers. Perhaps someday I will; I have a collection of them from all over the world at home.

Right now, I’m too excited for words about this Bloomsbury rerelease. I’m really loving the anime vibe from this version and the Kazu Kibuishi editions in the States.

Way back in the early(ish) days of the internet and Harry Potter fandom, I could spend hours (and this was before Google) searching for low quality scans of foreign editions of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I just had to know how other illustrators imagined my favorite characters and settings.

The Mary GrandPré illustrations will always have a special place in my heart as an American reader who had to have her hardcovers at midnight, but I’m excited about these new editions to bring my favorite stories to a new generation of readers – not that Harry Potter really needs repackaging: it’s enough of a phenomenon that my students are asking me for it even if we only have a couple beat up copies of the original Bloomsbury “children’s cover,” and one donated Sorcerer’s Stone.

Whatever my students think, I’m preordering this cute new cover as soon as I can remember my Amazon.co.jp password.

Leave a Reply

