Slice of Life: Sorting Hat

Slice of LifeHello & welcome to my first Slice of Life post. Inspired by Two Writing Teachers, I’ll be posting a slice-of-life story every Tuesday.

This week, we’re starting with something that happened today during check-out time. A few students, soon to be fourth graders, came by the library during summer school to pick up some leisure reading books. H wanted Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. (We also have Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, because it’s an international school.)

H knows I like (love) all things Harry PotterPotteresque nail art. She complimented my nail art when I painted them Gryffindor colors, but some students were shocked – shocked, I tell you! – to hear that I knew about Pottermore.

“You know Pottermore!?” they demanded.

“I’ve been reading Harry Potter since before you were born,” I told them. My oldest students are in fifth grade, so this is not even an exaggeration.

Today, the girls were chatting about their houses. I asked them which house they would be sorted into if they went to Hogwarts. I got three Gryffindors and one very honest Slytherin. I asked them to guess my house.

(Despite the nail art, I’m not a Gryffindor. I just couldn’t find the right colors.)

old timesT, the Slytherin, guessed I would be in the same house as her. I told her it was close.  In the way of fandom, I have s secondary house. I’m a Slyther________. I was sorted into Slytherin when I played Hogwarts is Home, but that’s not the house I identify with.

(Pottermore was completely off base and put me in Hufflepuff. Hufflepuff!)

None of them guessed.

I’m a Ravenclaw.

I told them, “what do Ravenclaws like?” and eventually T got “books!” So I said, “what do I do all day?”

H put it together. “You’re a librarian!”

(This is the only photo I could find of me in my handmade Ravenclaw scarf, taken in my first year of undergrad. A friend of mine knitted it for me in high school because the official merchandise was blue and silver, like the movies, instead of blue and bronze, like the books, and as a Ravenclaw, I just couldn’t stand for that.)

I love having these conversations with my students. I want them to know that their teachers are readers, too. That we read for fun, that we’re passionate about stories and we want to share them out of love – love for our students, love for our favorite stories.

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life: Sorting Hat

  1. Welcome to our weekly challenge. I’m glad you joined us this week. I hope you’ll come back next Tuesday too.

    I think it’s great that you’re having conversations like this with your students. It is important for students to see us as readers and writers. You are both!

    • Thank you for your comments and encouragement. I’ll definitely be back next week, and the week after; participating in Slice of Life on Tuesdays is one of my new school year resolutions.

      These are the kinds of conversations that I love to have with my students. If I can give them nothing else, I want them to leave my library with a love of books.

  2. Thank you for sharing this post. While I am probably not quite as dedicated to HP (only visiting Pottermore occasionally) we reread the first two books this summer with my second oldest and took a quiz that assigned my older son and I to Hufflepuff. Your post was whimsical and fun to read.

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Because of my attachment to the original “canon,” I actually haven’t explored Pottermore so much. I just took the sorting quiz for this post!

Leave a Reply

