“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (September 10, 2014)

What are you reading?

ChangelessI’ve been flailing around since finishing The Magician’s Book, entirely unsure what to do with myself. I plonked my digital copy of Changeless on my phone ereader app, because anything with Madame Lefoux is bound to be entertaining, but my heart really isn’t in it except for an particular interest in a certain cross-dressing French inventor. This isn’t the first time I’ve read Parasol Protectorate, and I think I’ll stop here when I finish; I have some feelings about the narrative treatment Madame Lefoux , the only canonically lesbian character, towards the end of the series.

I also picked up and read the first half of No Plot? No Problem!, the NaNoWriMo how-to book by Chris Baty. I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo on and off since 2005, and I’ve even read the book before, but it was there and I read it. The second half deals more with week-by-week tips and tricks, which will all be very useful… two months from now.

What did you recently finish reading?

The Magician's BookI think there comes a time in every reader’s life when they are stopped dead in their literary tracks for a bit by a book that was just that good. It’s happened to me before – offhand, I remember this happening with What Happened to Lani Garver and Farewell My Concubine, and I know there have been others – but this is the first time it’s been a nonfiction book that’s haunted me like this.

I mean, I liked it so much I tweeted Laura Miller for suggestions and she was kind enough to respond with a link to her list of books for kids who love Narnia (which I don’t, but I like the idea of Narnia) and her bibliography.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I don’t know! Help.

I have a (metaphorical) stack of unfinished books: The Ocean at the End of the LaneUnderstanding ComicsA Little PrincessRedwall. I’ve got a “to-read” list as long as my arm (including, but not limited to, SabrielThe Magician’s Land) and none of those seem like quite what I’m looking for right now.

Leave a Reply

