“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (October 15, 2014)

What are you reading?

11595276I’m sticking to it. So far, I’ve knocked one book off the shelf. More on that in a  minute.

I keep picking up books and then not finishing them. I still haven’t finished The Witch’s Boy, even though it’s great, and I started The Miseducation of Cameron Post, which is also really good, but in a different way. Maybe I just can’t stick with one thing for too long.

Right now, the list includes: Totto-chan: The Little Girl in the WindowThe Island of Excess LoveSuperman: The High Flying History of the Man of SteelDiamond (in the Hetty Feather series), AfterworldsThe Wind Singer, and The Cambridge Companion to Children’s Literature – and more.

These are all wonderful books! I just can’t seem to stick with any of them for very long. (That’s probably why I’m twelve books behind on my Goodreads Challenge 2014.) Does that ever happen to you?

17204619What did you recently finish reading?

I zipped through Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. I read it cover-to-cover, and I hadn’t even started it last week. I think my book bouncing has a lot to do with burnout, so reading about the other introverts helped soothe me. I was hoping for a few more practical tips and tricks (you can’t arrange to work from home when you’re a school librarian, e.g.), but this was a nice (ahem) quiet corner to retreat into when I’m overwhelmed.

I did have some critique of the casual classism of the book, but that will get it’s own post.

What do you think you’ll read next?

As mentioned, I am not allowed to start anything new until I have finished – or dropped – five books from my “currently reading” shelf. So I’ll be working my way through that for awhile.

Leave a Reply

