“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (October 22, 2014)

Young Adult Literature: From Romance to RealismWhat are you currently reading?

I’m back to nonfiction, with Michael Cart’s Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism. I really enjoyed The Cambridge Companion to Children’s Literature. I took a children’s literature class in undergrad as a filler for credits, but other than that, I haven’t studied literature in a formal sense since high school, where my crowning achievement was an A paper on a book I had not even cracked open (Lord of the Flies), and answering the question “how many times can I drop the F-bomb in a short story inspired by M.T. Anderson’s Feed before I get in trouble?” It wasn’t that I didn’t like books. I loved books.

I just didn’t like school.

So now I’m catching up on all of this stuff (like who was Newbury, and why do we have an award named after him? or Caldecott? or thematic changes by decade in literature popular with people between the ages of twelve and nineteen?) and it’s really enjoyable!

11595276What did you recently finish?

I finished something! I was so proud of myself. I’ve been having a hard time finishing things, but I read The Miseducation of Cameron Post straight through with no other books interrupting me. It’s the best written, most believable story I’ve read in a long time and I couldn’t put it down.

Finishing left me hungry. It might have turned into a book hangover, were I not already halfway through The Witch’s Boy, which I already knew was an enjoyable read, so I jumped right back into that. I had less than half left to finish reading, so now I’m done that, too.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I still have an assortment of books left on my “currently reading” shelf that need to be read or removed. I never actually quite finished The Cambridge Companion to Children’s Literature, so maybe Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism will get me back into that particular genre to finish it off. Otherwise, I still have a heap of half-finished print and digital books languishing…

Leave a Reply

