“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (November 5, 2014)

Prince LestatWhat are you currently reading?

Prince Lestat! I was so excited to this onto my computer and then my phone to read. The Vampire Lestat was one of two paper books I brought with me when I moved to Japan, and while, okay, it might be a little bit trashy, I just can’t get over how much I love Lestat. I’d take him over Edward any day. My mom bought me Christ the Lord: Out of Exile for Christmas one year, but I’m so happy that Anne Rice is back to writing about the Brat Prince. I’m loving his misadventures in the new millennium, even if I’ve forgotten who half these people are because I’ve only read The Vampire Lestat and The Vampire Armand more than once, and that was years ago in undergrad.

What did you recently finish reading?
Boxers & SaintsI missed last week because I was on vacation. What did I do over vacation?
I read books, of course. I had days of gloriously long, uninterrupted reading, snuggled up cozy in bed with a cup of tea.
The day before vacation started, we received a small shipment of new books, including Gene Luen Yang’s Boxers & Saints. I cataloged and processed Boxers, and borrowed it for the evening to read on the train and in the waiting room at the doctor’s office. I read it that day, and I regretted leaving Saints behind on my desk. I was so excited for it that I rushed into work early to get started, and I finished it that night.

I sat on my bed, just saying “holy [censored],” softly, over and over again. Then I threw it to my roommate and insisted she read it. I handed it off to a friend at our D&D gathering the next day. I plugged it to my mother, even though she’s not really the graphic novel reading type.

I told her, “I won’t know for a few more years, but I think this changed my life like His Dark Materials.”

A reading experience like that can lead to a book hangover, but I know now that the best way to ward off one of those is to keep reading. I also know that it helps to cleanse ones palette with a change of genre, so I dabbled a bit more in Superman: The High-Flying History of the Man of Steel. I still haven’t finished; it’s my “in between” book, so it might stick around for awhile.

Next on my fiction list was Afterworlds. It didn’t rattle me the same way as Boxers & Saints, but it stayed with me. Whenever I put it down, the (ahem) ghosts of AfterworldsDarcy and Lizzie followed me around. I needed to know what happened next, and I read all 600ish pages straight through in under a week. I’m a slow reader; 600 pages is a lot for me, but I blew through it.

I loved Scott Westerfeld’s chronically under-appreciated So Yesterday as a high school student obsessed with Adbusters. He also contributed to another (geeky) favorite, The World of the Golden Compass, but I haven’t read any of his actually famous stuff, like Uglies. After reading a review of Afterworlds, I knew I had to have it, so I waited on tenterhooks for the release and grabbed it as soon as I could.

I was not disappointed.

Oh, and before vacation, I finished Young Adult Literature: From Romance to Realism.

Northern LightsWhat do you think you’ll read next?

I’ve been thinking that I’m ready to (re)reread His Dark Materials – and just in time for this beautiful new edition of Northern Lights. I looked long and hard for a copy, and I only have my special hardcovers, so a “reading copy” (and a copy on the same continent as me, no less!) wouldn’t be a waste.

Okay, I might also just really want to own this copy because it is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

