“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (November 12, 2014)

InkWhat are you reading?

I’m still soldering on through Prince Lestat. It’s interesting in that it’s good to catch up with these characters and see how the Information Age is treating them – not well, so far, for everyone but Benji – but I can’t say that I’m pulled along by the story or anything like that.

When books get boring, I pick up more and more books to prevent a reading slump. Now I’ve got Amanda Sun’s Ink on my ereading app, too. So far, it seems like Twilight in Shizuoka instead of Washington, and something to do with kami instead of vampires. I’d put it down, except that I’m a big Shinto nerd – true story, my favorite weekend thing to do when the weather is nice is walk all around Tokyo looking for shrines and I’ve filled up three books of shrine stamps/signatures – and I want to see what Sun does with the idea. I’m not really entirely sure how I feel about a story, set in Japan, about a native Japanese religious tradition, that’s about a white girl. Thoughts?

Waistcoats & WeaponryWhat have you recently finished reading?

Not much…

What do you think you’ll read next?

Gail Carriger’s next Finishing School book is out and I can’t wait to read it, so Waistcoats & Weaponry is definitely up next on my list. I might even jump ahead and get right into this one, because I’m worried about a reading slump with less than two months left in the year and thirteen books behind schedule on my Goodreads challenge!

Leave a Reply

