Slice of Life: NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo 2014 CalendarThis is what I’ve been up to this month, why I’ve been blogging even more sporadically than usual: November is National Novel Writing Month, and I’ve been busy squeezing writing into my days here and there wherever I can find time.

It’s been exhausting. I just finished scribbling down my 1,667 (or so) words for the day – I’m writing by hand this year. Yesterday was like pulling teeth trying to get those words out, but it was the best feeling, falling asleep knowing I wasn’t too far behind.

I had three hundred or so words left to go, but that didn’t feel too daunting, considering I somehow managed to write almost ten times that – and on a work day, no less. Somehow, by squeezing writing in before work in the morning, and during my morning break, and while I ate lunch, and then settling down in bed with A Knight’s Tale, I had written three thousand words.

I had also gone to work, taught classes, shelved books, located resources, done my job, cooked lunches and dinners, washed the dishes and brushed my teeth. Then I collapsed into bed and did the whole thing all over again today.

Slice of Life… and I’ll do it tomorrow, and the day after that, and the day after that, every day until the 30th, when I will scrawl those two blessed words, The End. Right now, it seems like a long and exhausting way off, but it’s exhilarating, too, feeling a story form under my fingers from fragments of words and images and half-formed ideas. I never outline for NaNoWriMo, I just run with whatever idea strikes on Halloween or so.

Now that I’ve got my groove back – if I win this year, it will be for the first time since 2007, in my first semester of undergrad – I want to bring this to my students next year, this exhausting, exhilarating, writing life.

… but first, I need to get some sleep.

Leave a Reply

