Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Want to Reread

Top Ten TuesdayThis week, I’d like to start doing Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, which I discovered via the delightful The Dirigible Plum.

This week’s topic is Top Ten Books I Want to Reread.

I love to reread; rereading is, for me, one of reading’s chief pleasures. I love to return to the same story again and again, like when I was little, always begging my mom to read “More, More, More” Said the Baby just one more time, please.

I also reread a lot (a lot), so I’m going to fudge this one a bit and make it, Top Ten Stories I’d Like to Reread/Rewatch/Revisit.

  1. The Golden Compass, Philip Pullman I’ve been thinking about these books a lot lately, and how His Dark Materials made me who I am as a reader, and even as a person. It’s become part of my personal mythology.
  2. Saiyuki, Kazuya Minekura This one is totally a book. It’s a comic book series, but that counts, right? I love these stupid boys and their stupid journey. My roommate and I have an art calendar on the wall, currently featuring these losers around a kotatsu and it’s reminded me why I adored this series so much in high school and I still do.
  3. TSUBASA: RESERvoiR CHRoNiCLE, CLAMP Speaking of stupid things I really love, TSUBASA. It’s a bit of a train wreck and my friends make (loving) fun of me for being so obsessed with this series, but I miss it. Like Saiyuki, I have the whole thing in print at home on my bookshelf … on the opposite side of the world. At least it’s getting a sequel, WoRLD CHRoNiCLE, so I get to come back to my favorite characters and the weird capitalization in the title.
  4. The Magicians, Lev Grossman I read this at a very, very strange time in my life and I think the general weirdness of the time really colored my experience. I remember it being, like, earth-shattering, but other people whose book opinions I trust have told me otherwise. I was making some bad choices back then, and I can’t decide if I want to know if this was one of them, or just let it rest.
  5. Good Omens, Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett I haven’t reread this since I moved to Japan. It wasn’t the one book I brought with me and footnotes are such a pain in ebook format. That totally ruined this book for a friend of mine. But maybe I can get it for a Christmas present – one for her and one for me?
  6. So Yesterday, Scott Westerfeld I have this one sitting on my desk for D.E.A.R. times during this month. I remember it blew me away in high school, even though I never got into Westerfeld’s other books. I owe all of my interest in advertising – which, in a long and convoluted way, lead me here – to my English teacher at my votech school giving me this book. It’s showing it’s age, but I still love it anyway.
  7. “More, More, More,” Said the Baby, Vera B. Williams My only memory of this book is that I absolutely loved it, so much that my mom hid it from me for years and I didn’t find it again until I climbed up onto the kitchen counter to get the potato chips off the top of the fridge. That’s a good memory to have.
  8. The Clown-Arounds, Joanna Cole & Jerry Smath This is another one that I don’t even remember. I had forgotten about it entirely until my mother mentioned having lunch with her coworker who gave it to me and my sister when we were little. Now I’m curious, because while I can’t recall any specific images or even what it was about, I remember the feeling of joy that it brought me when I read it and pored over the pictures.
  9. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, J.K. Rowling No discussion of rereading would be complete for me without including this book. I read the whole series over and over again until the spines cracked and the pages fell out, always waiting for the next book, until suddenly, there were no more next books, so I started all over and read them again. When I hit hard times, these are the first books I (re)turn to for comfort.
  10. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood See, here’s where I’m fudging it a bit, but I’ve been thinking about this TV show too often lately not to include it. I could say I’d like to (re)read the manga, but I’ve actually only seen the anime(s – both versions, the 2003 and the 2010 reboot/remake). This story is just so good, but for me, it would lose something if it weren’t in living color.

EDIT: Oops, this was the topic like two weeks ago. Oh, well! I can never get enough of rereading and I’ll show up on time next week. (I need some sleep.)

Leave a Reply

