“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (December 3, 2014)

What are you currently reading?

The TastemakersAfter last week’s big push, I found myself in a slump. I read all the good stuff and I didn’t have anything left that really excited me. But with a month to go until my Goodreads 2014 Challenge closes, it’s crunch time. I have to keep reading; I have just under a month to read twelve books. Now was not the time for a slump.

So what did I go?

I got more books.

I’ve read a lot of nonfiction this year, which is new for me, but often I find that it holds my attention, even when fiction falls flat. I mean, there’s just so much cool stuff out there in the world, ways of considering things I took for granted. So right now, I’m reading The Tastemakers: Why We’re Crazy for Cupcakes but Fed Up with Fondue.

What do I know about food blogging? The closest I get is sharing photos of cakes on Instagram. I’m not a foodie, but The Tastemakers has been fascinating.

I also started, then set aside, Reading Like a Writer. I think Francine Proses’s book will be a good one for honing my writing craft, but a chapter dedicated to the singular importance of a the perfect word in a well constructed sentence… Well, it’s not very appropriate reading for the last week of NaNoWriMo, so I put it down for awhile with the intent to come back at a more opportune time.

Meanwhile, because I don’t want to be reading no fiction, I’m continuing my reread of Scott Westerfeld’s So Yesterday, which I started during our school’s D.E.A.R. program. I loved this book so much in high school.

What did you recently finish reading?

23281884As part of my NaNoWriMo participation, I (re)read along the week-by-week chapters of founder Chris Baty’s No Plot? No Problem! for helpful tips and pointers I forgot in the seven years since I won. That was the only book I finished reading this week. All of my time went to writing.

What do you think that you’ll read next?

I’ve got A Mad, Wicked Folly on my phone, because it keeps coming up on book blogs and hey, women’s suffrage.

Other than that, I don’t have anything in particular lined up, because a) that’s not really a thing that I do, and b) I’ve got to be reading a lot, and while a list of possibilities is helpful in keeping me motivated, a list of “requirements,” or a list that feels like a chore to complete, will only make me drag my feet.

“What Are You Reading?” Wednesdays are hosted by Should be Reading.

Leave a Reply

