Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2014

Top Ten New-to-Me Authors of 2014

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is the Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2014 (*in no particular order). I read a lot of new-to-me authors this year, but some I’m not sure I’ll bother reading again, you know? Others made me interested in reading more.

  1. Jacqueline Woodson I read Brown Girl Dreaming after it won the National Book Award. I had it on my tentative list of books I might like to read, but I hadn’t gotten around to it yet because I’m not really into poetry. I’m so glad I picked it up, though. I’ve submitted it for consideration to the Sakura Medal committee, too.
  2. Kelly Barnhill As soon as I finished reading The Witch’s Boy, I immediately went off and got my hands on a copy of Iron-Hearted Violet, by the same author. I haven’t read it yet, because I’m saving it.
  3. Karen Foxlee Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy is just such a wonderful book. It has so many things I like in a book: a female protagonist, realistic mourning of a parent’s death, adventure, fairy tales, a boy who reminds me of The Little Prince…  I don’t know why I haven’t read anything else by her yet.
  4. Gene Luen Yang I don’t read many graphic novels – mostly, it’s an issue of access – but we bought Boxers & Saints for the secondary library after it received rave reviews and I’d really like to get into more of his work, like American Born Chinese.
  5. Ellen Renner I loved Castle of Shadows so much. I’m just dying to get City of Thieves.
  6. Soman Chainani The School for Good and Evil was so much fun. I do like a good fairy tale retelling or mash-up, but sometimes they feel a little stale. Not so with The School for Good and Evil! I haven’t had a chance to read A World Without Princes… yet.
  7. Nnedi Okorafor I first heard of Akata Witch during the #WeNeedDiverseBooks Summer Reading Series. I haven’t read any of Okorafor’s other books, but I am so ready for Breaking Kola. It was basically the coolest thing I read all year.
  8. Catherynne Valente I had a lot of resistance to reading anything by Valente, due to some unfortunate circumstances that had little to do with her actual work, and more to do with the fact that I just could not get into Deathless and Palimpest when my social circle was raving about them. It was just not my jam, and usually, I could leave it at that, but I had a chip on my shoulder, so I decided to go in for a short story collection instead. I might be ready to try again with Palimpest some other time.
  9. Mary Roach 2014 was, for me, the year of nonfiction, and Bonk was one of the first I read this year. I might like to give Stiff and Spook a try, even if they are a little morbid.
  10. Naomi Wolf Jean Kilbourne was my idol in eleventh and twelfth grades, so you would have thought I should have read The Beauty Myth ages and ages ago. I’m not so sure I want to read her newest, Vagina: A New Biography, but I might give Promiscuities or Misconceptions a try, because The Beauty Myth did have some enlightening ideas.
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2014

  1. Great annotated list… thanks for sharing! I started Stiff and have loved it so far. It’s not really morbid, more fascinating. I recommend it!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year | perfect worry

Leave a Reply

