“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (December 10, 2014)

23281884What are you currently reading?

A Mad, Wicked Folly is on my phone, and thus the one I’m carrying around with me. (True story: I have a repetitive stress injury in my shoulder from check-in/check-out at a very unergonomic desk set-up and a mouse I can’t reach. Carrying books around is painful.)

It’s… It’s interesting. I think I’ll save my thoughts for a proper response. We haven’t had a My Thoughts On… in a bit.

On my desk at work, I’ve still got So Yesterday left to finish. It’s quite the nostalgia bomb, first published ten years ago, and I read it maybe eight or nine years ago, when I was in eleventh grade. I wonder how the story would have to change if it took place in 2014 instead of 2004? I’ve been thinking about that a lot as I read.

What did you recently finish reading?

An elementary student borrowed The Hunger Games with her mum but returned it to my check-in box, which means it ended up on my desk to be dropped off in the secondary library. I just held onto it for a few days in between and reread it in a binge. It’s so disturbing, but also so compulsively readable. I made the mistake of reading the first few pages, and that was it.

The Problem With Being Slightly HeroicI also finished reading The Tastemakers, which was the book on my phone. I liked it! I guess I never thought too hard about food trends before, because I’m neither a foodie nor a trend…y?, but I think that’s the best kind of popular nonfiction, a book that illuminates, in a readable way, something you didn’t know about – maybe something you didn’t even know you didn’t know about.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I try to encourage a community of readers in my library, and that means my students give me recommendations, too, reader-to-reader. I don’t just suggest books from on high. Today I told them I have another ten books to go if I want to reach my goal of 100 books in 2014, so they made a pile of their favorites for me to read: The Problem With Being Slightly Heroic (sequel to The Grand Plan to Fix Everything), Absolutely Almost, and Inside Out & Back Again. I don’t know if I’ll get a chance to read all three before the week is out, but I can borrow them over the holiday and give my eyes a break from squinting at my phone screen all day.

Leave a Reply

