“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (December 17, 2014)

What are you currently reading?

Pantomime

When I first head about Laura Lam’s Pantomime, I really had no interest in reading it, because the blurb made it sound like some kind of hetero paranormal steampunk fantasy romance. Which, I mean, okay, fine, that’s cool I guess but I don’t really care.

Oh, except that Micah is a bisexual intersex trans man. That is much more relevant to my interests, thank you. I didn’t learn about that until I read the blurb for the sequel, which made me go back and get the first book. I’m glad I didn’t recognize Shadowplay as the sequel of Pantomime when I first saw it, or I would have skipped over it and gone to something else. Instead, I went back for the first book and it’s really good. I’m looking forward to the second already.

I also got a shipment of library books to my place, since they were arriving after vacation started, which means that I have a copy of Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant just sitting there, waiting for me. I’ve read a few pages and I’m already in love with Delilah.

What did you recently finish reading?

I finished (re)reading Scott Westerfeld’s So Yesterday, a book I’ve mentioned that I adored in high school. I’m not sure it entirely stood the test of time, but part of that is because it’s so dated. 2004 is a decade ago, and because so much of the story relies on trendiness and cutting edge technology, it’s a little jarring to read about tiny, blurry pictures taken on flip phones as a cool new thing.

PlayI also picked up Play: How it Shapes the Brain, Opens the Imagination, and Invigorates the Soul. We got it for the professional development collection at work. It was okay. The research was interesting, but the author’s casual classism and sexism really made it hard to focus on the science. It was very, like, “boys will be boys and girls will gossip.” Uhm, no.

I also, admittedly to catch up on my Goodreads challenge, marked Shadowscapes Companion as “read.” I’ve been using it for tarot since February, and I’ve memorized most of the cards. It’s not really the kind of book you read front-to-back, but I figured it was close enough. I’ll never really be finished reading it, as long as I still practice tarot with that deck, you know?

What do you think you’ll read next?

Shadowplay. Obviously. I can’t wait to get started on it. I only picked up Pantomime on Monday, and I’m already 150+ pages into it. (I read really slowly. That’s a lot for me.)

I also borrowed The Problem with Being Slightly Heroic from the library at work to read over vacation when none of the students needed it.

“What Are You Reading?” Wednesdays are hosted by Should be Reading.

2 thoughts on ““What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (December 17, 2014)

Leave a Reply

