Judging a Book by its Cover: The Littlest Angel

Today is December 18th. Do you know what that means?

It means there is one week until Christmas!

The Littlest AngelOne of my favorite Christmas traditions is the picture books my mom would read to us every Christmas Eve, after our one present and movie, just before bedtime. One of those books, my favorite, is The Littlest Angel. My mom still has her childhood copy, complete with scribbles. Obviously, that one, the angel’s dresses sloppily colored with a blue crayon, is my favorite.

When I moved to Japan in 2011, my mom bought me my own copy. It’s the most recent edition, with illustrations by Paul Micich. They’re very beautiful, but not quite what I grew up with, so I went looking into other illustrated editions.

I mean, I didn’t know re-illustrating picture books was a thing you could do. Certainly, no one would ever dare redo the illustrations for that other Christmas children’s classic, How the Grinch Stole Christmas? (As if the live action movie wasn’t sacrilege enough!)

The Littlest AngelSo off I went to investigate these other versions.

I like this one a lot. I think the angel looks like a cutie, and they’ve captured his facial expression perfectly – but maybe a little too perfectly. I miss the cartoony, soft look of my mother’s book. It might be dated, but that’s what Christmas tradition is all about.

I know it’s unfair to compare these books to my book. It’s like buying a loaf of banana bread, even from a fancy bakery, and complaining that it doesn’t taste just like my mom’s.

I should be glad that this book gets redone, the story updated with new illustrations for new readers. Maybe someday the copy I had will become someone’s favorite, the illustrations they cherish.

Leave a Reply

