My Thoughts On…: Pantomime

PantomimeOnce upon a time, I saw Laura Lam’s Pantomime on the shelf. Intrigued by the cover, I picked it up and read the jacket copy. I put it back down.

R. H. Ragona’s Circus of Magic is the greatest circus of Ellada. Nestled among the glowing blue Penglass—remnants of a mysterious civilization long gone—are wonders beyond the wildest imagination. It’s a place where anything seems possible, where if you close your eyes you can believe that the magic and knowledge of the vanished Chimaera is still there. It’s a place where anyone can hide.

Iphigenia Laurus, or Gene, the daughter of a noble family, is uncomfortable in corsets and crinoline, and prefers climbing trees to debutante balls. Micah Grey, a runaway living on the streets, joins the circus as an aerialist’s apprentice and soon becomes the circus’s rising star.

But Gene and Micah have balancing acts of their own to perform, and a secret in their blood that could unlock the mysteries of Ellada.

Okay. Yawn. Whatever. It sounds like a hetero romance, and that’s cool I guess but I don’t care.

I’m also really tired of “not like other girls” girls.

I was a tomboy growing up. I get it, the weird sense of alienation from your girl peers when they’re all wearing glittery tank tops and talking about make-up while you’re wearing a men’s tee shirt from the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum and talking about Pokémon. Believe me, I get it.

… but did no one in the coresty eras like clothes and fashion? Or do those girls not deserve to be protagonists, only fashionable, simpering friends?

So, yeah. I totally skipped this one.

ShadowplayI went on with my life and read other things and forgot about Pantomime for awhile until I saw Shadowplay. I liked that cover, too, and I didn’t connect it to Pantomime until I finished reading the blurb.

The circus lies behind Micah Grey in dust and ashes.

He and the white clown, Drystan, take refuge with the once-great magician, Jasper Maske. When Maske agrees to teach them his trade, his embittered rival challenges them to a duel which could decide all of their fates.

People also hunt both Micah and the person he was before the circus – the runaway daughter of a noble family. And Micah discovers there is magic and power in the world, far beyond the card tricks and illusions he’s perfecting…

A tale of phantom wings, a clockwork hand, and the delicate unfurling of new love, Shadowplay continues Micah Grey’s extraordinary journey.

Oh.

Now you’ve got me interested.

So I went back and I picked up Pantomime so I could get to Shadowplay. (I never read series out of order.)

Partway through Shadowplay, I searched around for reviews to confirm my suspicions that the jacket copy was all wrong and made no sense. Gene and Micah aren’t a couple. They’re the same person. Gene/Micah is an intersex trans person.*
*He was raised as a girl, but identifies as a boy.

The Book Smugglers reviewed Pantomime and talked about all of this and improves significantly on the original jacket copy:

An intersex teen, Iphigenia Laurus, or Gene, raised as the daughter of a noble family, is uncomfortable in corsets and crinoline, and prefers climbing trees to debutante balls. Gene’s parents wish to force a decision on which gender Gene will spend the rest of Gene’s life as, so Gene runs away from home, assumes the identity of Micah Grey, a runaway living on the streets, joins the circus as an aerialist’s apprentice and soon becomes the circus’s rising star.

There. That’s much better, and it actually tells potential readers what the book is about. This is not a book I would have skipped over on the shelf. I almost missed out on it, which is a real shame, because it’s so good. I’ve gotten a lot more strict about my Goodreads stars, and it still earned four. (My average is 3.54, but I went and added all of my favorites/five star books from before I started the account and didn’t add anything that I didn’t adore, skewing the average up a bit.)

I don’t want to be a queer book detective any more.

Could you write a very interesting story, told in a series of alternating flashback/present day chapters and have it be a big reveal that they’re the same person? Yes. It would be a cool story, but it is not this story. It’s no surprise to discover that Gene and Micah are one and the same. It’s not a spoiler. There’s no reason not to put it out there.

How many other readers aren’t finding this story because the jacket copy says it’s not for them? Do we have to “trick” cis/het readers into picking up queer books at the expense of queer readers?

One thought on “My Thoughts On…: Pantomime

  1. Pingback: “What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (December 24, 2014 – Christmas Eve) | perfect worry

Leave a Reply

