My Thoughts On…: My True Love Gave to Me

My True Love Gave to Me  One of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2015 is to actually review (some of) the books I read. I figured, Why wait? and so here we are, with My True Love Gave to Me.

Goodreads summary:

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWELVE HOLIDAY STORIES by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins.

Do I love holiday stories? Yes. Holiday movies? You bet! Made-for-TV-holiday specials? Ohhh yeah. Holiday episodes of my favorite sitcoms? Bring it on.

I love Christmas so much that I get excited about starting Advent somewhere around Halloween. And let’s be honest: it says “holiday” up there, but it’s mostly Christmas with a token Hanukkah story. There was a token Hanukkah story, and a token “queer” story – we’ll get to that in a minute – but it was a Christmas anthology.

I didn’t recognize most of these authors. I know Holly Black from Tithe when I was a teenager and Doll Bones now; Rainbow Rowell for Fangirl, which I read this year but it did not impress me; David Levithan from the good/bad old days of digging up something anything queer I could get my greedy little hands on reading Boy Meets Boy and then Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist in university; and though I’ve heard of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I’ve never read it. The others were a mystery to me.

Usually, I get bored of short story collections, but these were just the right length, and just the right number.

Most of the stories washed right over me. I enjoyed them enough to keep going and not skip any, but then I promptly forgot about them. (This happened with Levithan’s “Your Temporary Santa” and “It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown” by Stephanie Perkins.)  Others I really didn’t like at all because it felt like wasted potential. (e.g., Ally Carter’s “Star of Bethlehem,” and Holly Black’s “Krumpuslauf.” Black’s story felt too much like she was trying to be Holly Black then just tell a story.) The closest I came to skipping was “Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me,” by Penny Han.

A handful really stuck out for me: “Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus” was probably my favorite. I hadn’t even heard of Myra McEntire, and the whole thing fell flat when I tried to explain to my roommate why I liked it so much, but I actually laughed out loud – multiple times, even! – at this story, and I’d love to read more by her.

The other two I liked were magical: “The Lady and the Fox” by Kelly Link was vivid and beautiful, like a Tam Lin retelling? and I love Tam Lin retellings, ever since I read Holly Black’s Tithe when I was sixteen or so. “The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer” was so vividly told that I’m curious if it’s part of another, larger piece… I hope so!

All in all, I’d give it three stars: a solid I liked it. (I’m trying to be stricter with my stars. Otherwise, I give everything four stars and it just becomes meaningless.)

However, in twelve stories, there was one couple that wasn’t straight – the two boys in Levithan’s “Your Temporary Santa” – and there wasn’t a single queer girl to be seen. There were no trans characters. While each individual story was good enough on it’s own, I guess, as a collection, I wanted to see a little… more.

Cis gay men are always the token queers. Cis gay men’s stories are the dominant narrative of what it means to be queer in 2014. That’s not David Levithan’s fault, but they couldn’t find a single author to write about a lesbian couple? Nobody would write about a trans main character?

Let me tell you: this asexual lesbian (that’s two points on your diversity bingo!) freaking loves Christmas. I’d like to read about girls like me falling in love with girls like me and kissing under the snow or whatever it is couples do in holiday specials.

That’s what I want for Christmas.

One thought on “My Thoughts On…: My True Love Gave to Me

  1. Pingback: “What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (December 24, 2014 – Christmas Eve) | perfect worry

Leave a Reply

