Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014 (Bookish or Otherwise)

Top Ten TuesdayIt’s that time of year again, when we start thinking about all of our resolutions for next year, what we did well and what we want to do better.

I read a lot, for fun and profit. (I’m a librarian.) I did well with my reading this year; currently, I’ve read 99 out of my goal of 100 books in 2014, which is almost double what I read in 2013, which was probably more than double what I read in 2012, but I didn’t keep track. (2012 was a bad year. We don’t talk about 2012.)

This year, I also started keeping track of the diversity of my reading; diversity of genre, of authorship, of character. We’ll get into that in another post, once I finish off that last book and crunch some numbers.

So, without further ado: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014 (Bookish or Otherwise).

Bookish

  1. 2014 Reading ChallengeRead 100 books. 100 is a good number. It’s a solid, somewhat challenging number of books that isn’t completely overwhelming. I’m content with this. I’m not one of those people who needs to increase the number every year. I like a little flexibility and time to think, even while keeping myself busy reading.
  2.  #WeNeedDiverseBooks. I haven’t run the numbers yet, but I already know that my reading list was overwhelmingly straight, white, abled and wealthy. In 2015, I’m going to put serious effort into diversifying my reading, and collection development for my library.
  3. Review. I like to read, but I do not like to review. I don’t even like reading reviews. I skim them. But I know that this is a book blog, and part of writing a book blog is writing reviews. It’s not like I don’t think about my books as I read them. I’m just really bad at gathering my thoughts and getting them out there.
  4. fiftyfifty.mefiftyfifty.me. This is a combination books/movies challenge for 2015: read fifty new-to-me books and watch fifty new-to-me movies. I’ve set up a side blog just for tracking my progress: fifteen50. I haven’t decided on my majors and minors, but I’m considering a “minor” in Shinto, and “majors” in books in Japanese/日本語の本 and poetry.
  5. Poetry. I’m one of those readers. I know what I like – fantasy, children’s literature, perky girl protagonists – and I tend to stick to it pretty closely. 2014 was the year I discovered nonfiction. I never used to read nonfiction for fun. In fact, the thought never occurred to me before a coworker mentioning that his leisure reading consists mostly of biographies. I want to expand my reading again next year, and give poetry a fair shot. Whether this is books of poetry, or reading poems published in magazines, I don’t know.

Otherwise

  1. Get Your Words Out!. I’ve already pledged the Modest goal level, which is to write 150,000 words in 2015. This is my first time participating, and I wanted to start with something manageable. According to their site, this is three NaNoWriMos – or approximately 411 words a day, because the idea is to build writing stamina, not sprinting.
  2. Post/Publish. This doesn’t mean publish in the sense of professionally, just get my writing out there. I used to post my work on fictionpress.com. Is that still a thing? Or are all the cool kids on WattPad nowadays? I don’t want to just write something, stuff it in a folder and forget about it with maybe one or two other people ever reading it.
  3. NaNoWriMoNaNoWriMoI won NaNoWriMo this year for the first time since 2008. It was a great feeling and a lot of fun, even when I hated my story, my characters, my setting, and my hand hurt. (I write longhand.) I want to do it again. I also want to do…
  4. NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program. Ever since I started working in a school, I’ve been thinking about offering a NaNoWriMo “club” for my students. I already have some interest from some students who knew about my November project from hanging around the library when it’s supposed to be closed. I think this would be a great program for my school, so.
  5. Blog. Of course! I don’t have any big new plans for this blog, but I just want to keep it going and do my thing, meet other bloggers, make friends! 2014 was a pretty good year for blogging. I want 2015 to be even better!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014 (Bookish or Otherwise)

  1. fiftyfifty.me is new to me but it sounds interesting. I’m considering signing up. Fifty books will be easy, but I don’t watch many movies, so that will be a stretch for me. Good luck with your goals!

    • Fifty books will be no problem for me, either. I like the idea of “majors” and “minors,” which will add some challenge to it, but like you, the fifty movies will really be a stretch for me!

  2. I don’t think you need to have reviews on a book blog. I know others do sometimes but I just like all kind of book posts and reviews shouldn’t have to be mandatory. Book blogging is about spreading the love for books and that are loads of ways to do that without reviewing them.
    Good luck with all your goals! I like how varied they are.

    • Thank you!

      I think there are some books that I would like to review, stuff I either loved or hated or thought a lot about while I read, but I’m happy to hear that book reviews aren’t a “must have” for a book blog!

Leave a Reply

