“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (January 7, 2015)

So You Want to Be a Wizard What are you currently reading?

I was thinking recently that I really liked Diane Duane’s So You Want to be a Wizard (though not, as I remember it, the rest of the Young Wizards series), so I figured now was as good a time as any to reread it.

So You Want to Be a Wizard counts towards both my Flights of Fantasy and Diversity on the Shelf challenges; it is a fantasy story about (as far as I can tell), a biracial Hispanic girl (Nita) and a Hispanic boy (Kit).

I also have Laura Lam’s Shadowplay on the back burner.

What did you recently finish reading?

I finished reading A Christmas Carol, and then I sat down with Tiger in my Soup, a book purchased to the library that was shipped to my home over break to my place instead of the school. It’s really sweet and I can’t wait to read it with my students.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I have The Golden Compass on my desk again, but in the interest of reading something new this year, I might also pick up Half a Chance. My students and coworkers keep telling me it’s so great, even the patrons who usually stick pretty closely to fantasy or adventure genres. High praise, then, for a realistic book if they can’t stop telling me that it’s so great!

“What Are You Reading?” Wednesdays are hosted by Should be Reading.

Leave a Reply

