Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature of The Broke & The Bookish. This week, we’re talking about “Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To.” I’ve said it before, but I don’t usually keep up with this stuff. That being said, there were a bunch of things that came out in 2014 that I really meant to read and then didn’t (or started and then dropped, or only just heard about but started reading immediately), so this list wasn’t as difficult to create as it might have been, because 2014 was a good year for books.

  1. Island of Excess LoveThe Half-Life of Molly Pierce, Katrina Leno Isn’t this the one where the girl has Dissasociative Identity Disorder? I’m super curious to read about it, for a whole bunch of reasons, and I’m not sure why I didn’t get around to it earlier, except that the opportunity never presented itself? This one is definitely still on my list.
  2. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, Leslye Walton Another one where I’m not sure why I didn’t read it, because it sounds like something right up my alley (and vaguely reminiscent of Skellig), and it has a beautiful cover. Another one I plan to read eventually, for what it’s worth.
  3. The Island of Excess Love, Francesca Lia Block There is a certain kind of teenage girl who loves Witch Baby. I was that kind of teenage girl, so when I heard about Love in the Time of Global Warming, I snapped it up immediately. I don’t usually “do” apocalypse stories, but the idea of an Odyssey retelling starring a girl named Penelope was too much to risk missing out. Now there’s another one, this time a retelling of the Aeneid? I’m still not sure why I never read this last year.
  4. Prince LestatGretel and the Dark, Eliza Granville Probably I haven’t read this one because anything set around the era of Nazi Germany is bound to be pretty dark (it’s even right there in the title), but it’s about the power of stories, and if there’s something I can’t resist, it’s the power of stories. So I’ll definitely give this one a read when I get the chance.
  5. Something Real, Heather Demetrios Something about this just really appeals to me. I’m really curious if the “Bakers Dozen” family is a fundamentalist family (like the Duggars) or just happen to have a lot of kids? ‘Cause if it’s about her escaping the Quiverfull cult, then I definitely want to read it, but either way, I won’t turn it down if it comes by my way.
  6. A Thousand Pieces of You, Claudia Grey I love a good multiverse, ever since I read The Golden Compass in fifth or sixth grade, but I took it off of my list because I wasn’t sure that I’d be interested in reading a love story about Marguerite and Paul, which, knowing YA, would probably take center stage over the far more interesting and important fact of multiple universes.
  7. Jackaby, William Ritter I always love a well-crafted speculative historical fiction story that could logically fit into the actual events. Jack the Ripper still hasn’t been conclusively identified, and perhaps at this point, never will be… So why shouldn’t it be the work of some mysterious supernatural creature? It’s not my usual thing (a little to horror-y for my taste) but the cover did catch my eye last year.
  8. RivermanHollow City, Ransom Riggs I started reading this one but ultimately dropped it because the talking dog was too freaking weird for me, and not in the general way that Miss Peregrine’s is weird. Still, I wish I could have gone through it because the first one was so cool. I really love the conceit of the book being told around found photographs, but I just wish author hadn’t found the photograph of the dog with the hat.
  9. Prince Lestat, Anne Rice I got pretty far into this one before admitting that I was bored. (It needs more Armand and Marius.) Usually, I wouldn’t count a dropped book as something I “missed,” but I would like to get the rest of the way through it. I like knowing what Lestat is up to in the 21st century, even if it means slogging through bits about vampires I don’t know.
  10. The Riverman, Alex Starmer Does it count if you didn’t even hear about this book at all until 2015 and are currently reading it? Oh, well. I’ll put it here anyway, because as soon as I heard about it, I knew I had to read it, like, immediately, for a whole bunch of reasons and so far, it has not been a disappointment.
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

  1. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender is on my bookshelf giving me guilt every morning! That and Jackaby I really need to read soon. I really enjoyed Hollow City in the end! I hope you can get past the dog 🙂

  2. I found The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender pretty stunning to begin with, but I was very disappointed by something that happened towards the end. ): I’m curious to see what you’ll make of that book when you do read it though.

    I REALLY MUST READ SOME FRANCESCA LIA BLOCK. I don’t know how I still haven’t read any of her stuff, especially because Love in the Time of Global Warming and The Island of Excess Love sound like they’d totally be my kinda thing. I must read them soon!

    I know, I’m intrigued by A Thousand Pieces of You but from reviews it looks like the whole multiverse thing isn’t really developed to its full potential. But sigh, that cover is so pretty.

    • Oops, I’m replying sooo late and I’m sorry, but yes, yes you must read some Francesca Lia Block. She was a huuuge deal in the late eighties/early nineties for her compassionate portrayal of LGBT families and the AIDS crisis. There’s some hipster racism happening in DANGEROUS ANGELS (the collection of Weetzie Bat books), but I’d still recommend them anyway. BABY BE-BOP was so important to me in high school, because here were gay people! who loved each other! in a flawed, human way but they were happy and real!

      I know, I’m intrigued by A Thousand Pieces of You but from reviews it looks like the whole multiverse thing isn’t really developed to its full potential. But sigh, that cover is so pretty.
      What a bummer. I love a good multiverse.

Leave a Reply

