“What Are You Reading?” Wednesday (January 14, 2015)

“What are you reading?” Wednesday has been absorbed into Musing Mondays over at Should Be Reading, but I’ll continue posting on Wednesday because I am a creature of habit and I hate change.


Vivian Apple (2)What are you currently reading?

Right now, I’m reading Vivan Apple at the End of the World (also known as Vivian Versus The Apocalypse across the pond). I’ve only just started, but so far, I like the style, I like the POV character, Vivian, I like her makeshift family of her bestie, her bestie’s brother, her bestie’s brother’s boyfriend, and her bestie’s brother’s boyfriend’s little sister.

Like, did the Rapture really happen, or something else? Only a handful of chapters in and I’m already concerned about Vivian, which is a good sign; usually I can’t “do” apocalyptic stories, so I have to be really invested in the character to not just bow out and head for the safety of the real, not ending, world.

I happened across this one by accident, but I’m already glad I did.

I still have both Diane Duane’s So You Want to be a Wizard and Laura Lam’s Shadowplay all set up on my ereader, but somehow they both fell by the wayside, so I’m kinda/sorta still reading. During my lunch break at work, I’ve been reading 1990 Newbury Award winner Afternoon of the Elves, by Janet Taylor Lisle, via Open Library.

What did you recently finish reading?

RivermanThe Riverman, by Aaron Starmer, and I’m not sure how I feel about it. I don’t even remember where I heard about it but as soon as I did, I knew I had to read it that very instant or I would die. I made it through my work day, got home, acquired the ebook immediately, and started to read. I devoured it, but I’m not sure what to make of the ending, and I don’t even know whether I liked it or not.

On one hand, it feels like Aaron Starmer wrote this book for me. On the other hand, I won’t know if I like it until I find out if Aquavania is real or not, and what happens in the sequel, The Whisper, due out later this year.

The other book I read last week was Thanha Lai’s Inside Out & Back Again. One of my library regulars adores this book, and I finally got around to reading it as part of my resolution to read more poetry and read more books by/about people of color, but mostly because this is a community of readers, I respect this patron as a reader, and I wanted to read the book she recommended me, because this can’t be a one-way street.

It was amazing.

I took photos of my favorite bits.

Iron Hearted VioletWhat do you think you’ll read next?

I already have Iron Hearted Violet transferred over to my phone (which conveniently doubles as my ereader, because I’m cheap), ready to go. I enjoyed The Witch’s Boy, also by Kelly Barnhill, when I read it last year, and Iron Hearted Violet promises a lot of the things I love in books: a princess who is “plain, reckless, and … too clever for her own good,” a storyteller, taming dragons, magic books, you name it. From the description, it reminds me of a Book of Shadows, at least, I think it sounds like Violet and Charlie would be good friends.

After that, it’s anyone’s guess. I’m suddenly ravenous for books, and I’m tearing through them at a decent clip – at least for me, while working full time, etc. I have a bunch of stuff lined up, but does that mean anything? Nah.

Leave a Reply

