Books, Movies, Music & More: April 2015

Iron Hearted VioletApril was National Poetry Month, and NaPoWriMo!

Did I read any poetry? No, not really, except that I’m currently reading Brown Girl Dreaming aloud to my fourth and fifth grade students, and a collection of random poetry books to my younger kids – A Pizza the Size of the SunEverything On It, and so on. I liked Wabi Sabi, but mostly I was uninspired.

Did I write any poetry? Not a single word.

Books Read in April 2015

  • Iron Hearted Violet, Kelly Barnhill (middle grade, secondary world fantasy)
  • Let’s Eat Ramen, Nagumo + Aji-ichi (manga, contemporary)
  • The Story Thieves,  James Riley (middle grade, multiverse fantasy – in progress)
  • Virgin: The Untouched History, Hanne Blank (nonfiction)
  • The Darkest Part of the Forest, Holly Black (YA, urban fantasy)
  • How to be a Heroine, Samantha Ellis (nonfiction – in progress)

I dipped in and out of reading slumps this month. Every time I thought I was smooth sailing, I would lose interest again. But I’ve found that informational texts can keep me interested, even when I’m struggling to stay focused on fiction.

Song of the Sea
Movies Watched in April 2015

  • Jupiter Ascending (live action, sci-fi – in theaters)
  • Song of the Sea (traditional animated, fantasy)
  • Jack and the Cuckoo-Clock Heart (computer animated, steampunk)

I love going to see movies in theaters, so even if Jupiter Ascending was, in the words of a friend, “space trash,” she was right to call it “glorious space trash” and I really enjoyed it. Song of the Sea, on the other hand, was completely beautiful, and not with the “guilty pleasure” disclaimer – it’s genuinely lovely.

Music Listened in April 2015

  • Kintsugi – Death Cab for Cutie
  • The Nights – AVICII

Thanks for the First Listen, NPR. I couldn’t stop looping Kintsugi for the first few weeks of the month.

More – Anything Else?
Fullmetal AlchemistTV Programs Watched in April 2015

  • Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood (anime, adventure)
  • Criminal Minds (live action, crime drama)
  • Law & Order: Special Victims Unit (live action, crime drama)
  • CSI: Cyber (live action, crime drama)
  • The Heroic Legend of Arslan (anime, war epic)

I started both CSI: Cyber and The Heroic Legend of Arslan this month. CSI: Cyber is a definite for me, even though CSIs don’t usually do it for me because I love the team. (Brody is my style icon.) I’m waiting to see if Arslan improves; the animation is subpar and the war epic isn’t my usual genre, but I’m invested in Arslan himself already and I want to know if he can bring peace to the kingdom of Pars through diplomacy, empathy, and mutual understanding instead of fighting like his father.

2 thoughts on “Books, Movies, Music & More: April 2015

Leave a Reply

